United States imposes sanctions on those involved in the deportation of Ukrainian children

Опубліковано 31 August 2023 року, о 12:43

The United States State and Treasury Departments have imposed visa restrictions and sanctions on 13 russian individuals and entities linked to the forced removal of Ukrainian children.  “Voice of America” reports. 

In particular, the list of sanctions includes children’s rights commissioners in Kaluga region – Irina Ageeva, in Rostov region – Irina Cherkasova, in  Belgorod region – Galina Pyatikh, the human rights commissioner of the Chechen Republic – Mansur Soltaev, and the head of the government of the Chechen Republic – Muslim Khuchiyev.

The sanctions also targeted the “Artek” children’s summer camp in occupied Crimea and its “director” Konstantin Fedorenko.

The State Department says sanctions and visa restrictions were imposed to bring to justice those who commit genocide against Ukrainian children.