Five EU countries are calling for a ban on grain imports from russia and belarus

Опубліковано 9 March 2024 року, о 16:00

The agriculture ministers of Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, and the Czech Republic have urged the European Commission to prohibit the importation of grains from russia and belarus to the EU. 

The press service of the Ministry of Agriculture of Lithuania reported this.

The appeal suggests that the ban should apply to the entire European Union territory.

The ministers of these five countries stressed the need to implement measures that prevent stolen grain from entering the European market.

The EU Council of Ministers of Agriculture and Fisheries will consider this issue at their next meeting.

The Lithuanian Ministry of Agriculture is investigating the origin of imported grain, following information from the Ukrainian Minister of Agrarian Policy that russia is profiting from grain exports from Ukraine’s temporarily occupied territories to third countries.