European Union countries will help Ukraine overcome the consequences of the Kakhovka Hydroelectric power plant explosion.

Опубліковано 16 June 2023 року, о 16:20

At the request of the Ukrainian authorities, the EU is mobilizing its strategic reserves from the rescEU. This is reported on the website of the European Commission.


Currently, 16 European countries – Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, and Sweden – have offered to help Ukraine in the aftermath of the technological disaster.


The assistance includes the supply of water tanks, water pumps, boats, rescue equipment, generators, and other items needed in the affected areas.


The European Commission has already decided to provide Ukraine with three robust water treatment plants, each capable of providing up to 120,000 liters of clean drinking water per day. This will help the local government solve one of the most pressing problems in the flooded area.


In addition, the EU is coordinating with humanitarian organizations in Ukraine to provide the population of the affected areas with necessities, drinking water, cash assistance, equipment for organizing shelters, etc.